Guest Post – Special Accommodations for the MCAT

Thank you to former Post-Bac student Lauren Antognoli for this post –

I was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma when I was 17 years old. After six months of a rigorous chemotherapy regimen, I was in remission. My oncologist warned me about neuropathy and possible cardiovascular and pulmonary complications, so I was prepared for how chemo could affect my body. I was not prepared for how chemo would affect my brain.

I have always been an eager and diligent student, so I was discouraged when, as a 28-year-old post-bac at Georgetown, I understood the course material but was unable to finish exams in the time allotted. Frustrated, I explained my dilemma to my oncologist, who urged me to undergo neuropsychological testing. I worried that the results would reveal some irremediable defect that could jeopardize my future career in medicine. Results showed that my processing speed is delayed due to late-effects of chemotherapy. I was granted extended time on exams, and my grades skyrocketed.

I had heard that receiving accommodations for the MCAT was nearly impossible, but I knew that extended time significantly impacted my test scores. With nothing to lose, I carefully compiled my application and requested double time on the MCAT. If anyone heard screaming in Blommer on July 24, I apologize – it was me. I had received an email from the AAMC granting my request.

Applying for extended time on a standardized test can be time-consuming and stressful, but it is not an impossible feat. You must be organized, proactive, and open-minded. Here are some tips I hope you will find useful when requesting accommodations for the MCAT:

Start your application early. The AAMC takes at least six weeks to review your application. If your request is granted, it may take several more weeks to schedule your test if you haven’t already registered. If your request is denied and you submit an appeal, it may take over a month to receive a response from the AAMC. I suggest submitting your accommodation request at least three months before your ideal test date. This does not include time for neuropsychological testing – documentation of results may take several months to complete.

Gather necessary documentation. The AAMC website clearly lists what materials you need to submit with your application: https://www.aamc.org/students/applying/mcat/accommodations/. These may include neuropsychological testing results, academic documentation, and letters from doctors. You are also required to write a personal essay and answer several questions. All materials must be attached to your application, so give your evaluators ample time to compose their letters.

Write a mature and persuasive essay. In your essay, you must offer valid reasons why you believe you should receive accommodations. Provide relevant examples supported by details (i.e. “My test scores increased by more than 20% after receiving extended time on Biology exams at Georgetown”). The review board will not be swayed by emotional testimonies, so avoid discussing how a disability or academic struggle makes you feel. For example, instead of saying “I have struggled with dyslexia all my life and worry I won’t do well on the MCAT,” perhaps say “dyslexia inhibits my reading comprehension, so extended time would allow me to more effectively read and understand verbal passages.”

Be patient but proactive. Thousands of students apply for MCAT accommodations, so the process can be slow and unpredictable. You’ve put significant time and work into studying, so advocate for yourself when necessary. Two weeks before my MCAT, I received notification that my scheduled testing center was unable to accommodate me. I called the Office of Accommodated Testing Services every day to ensure that I was assigned a new testing center.

Be flexible. Not all testing centers can accommodate students who need extended time. My MCAT was scheduled only eight days before my test date, and the testing center was located over two hours away. I rented a car, drove up the night before, and stayed in a hotel. This was expensive but definitely worth the trouble.

You’re not alone! A student who needs accommodations can succeed and become an outstanding physician. I believe that many compassionate and dedicated doctors are able to understand adversity as a result of having prevailed over difficulties in their own lives. After communicating with multiple other childhood cancer survivors, I was relieved to find that many of them have experienced the same late effect from chemotherapy. Two of those survivors are successful doctors.

Feel free to contact me with any questions about the MCAT accommodation application process at lea44@georgetown.edu. Best of luck!